skip to Main Content



SIFFA Winners:

  • Best Cinematography – George Steel, cinematographer, Gozo (UK – Malta, 2015)
  • Best Screenplay – Edward Bordukov, screenwriter, The Pitch (Russia, 2015)
  • Best Actor – Kakhi Kavsadze and Dagun Omayev, main roles in Alexander Amirov’s Teli & Toli (Russia-Georgia, 2016)
  • Best Actress – Chieko Matsubara, Whisper of Yuzu Leaves, director Koji Kamizono (Japan, 2016)
  • Best Director – Vano Burduli, director, Summer of Frozen Fountains (Georgia-Russia, 2016)
  • Special Jury Award – The Dyosegey God, director Sergei Potapov, (Yakutia, 2015)
  • Festival Gran Prix – The Pitch, director Edward Bordukov (Russia, 2015).
    The award was presented to the film producer Michael Degtyar and actor Kirill Degtyar.
  • SIFFA President’s award recipient – Maeve Murphy – director, Taking Stock (UK, 2015)

Press Prize was awarded to Anton Bilzho’s The Dream Fish (Russia – Estonia, 2016).

Special Prizes were awarded to the Whisper of Yuzu Leaves by director Koji Kamizono and several out-of-competition films:

  • Lyricisms, director Nikolai Burlak (Russia, 2016)
  • Brutus, director Constantine Pham (Russia-Ukraine-US-Belarus-Romania-Israel, 2016)
  • Askarby Nagaplev’s documentary Circassian Woman (Russia, 2015)
  • Theodor Dodge’s documentary Rush (US, 2014)

Prizes for best film debut were presented to young actors, students of London’s elite Harrow School Kazbek Kandour and Gerald Barry.

Special prizes for global contribution to filmmaking were awarded posthumously to outstanding filmmakers who died in 2016: people’s artist of the USSR Vladimir Zeldin, British actor Alan Rickman and Polish director Andrzei Wajda.

Back To Top